Classmate Closeup – Michelle Barwick

Name at school?
Michelle Barwick

What is your name now?
Michelle Christie

Where do you live now?
Woodford in the Blue Mountains, which is approximately 45km from Canley (Editor’s note: that makes at least 5 classmates and 2 teachers who are mountain men/women)

Partner?
Second husband Brian

Michelle and Brian with Jake

How did you meet?
We met when we worked together in community mental health at Liverpool

Kids/Grandkids?
Joshua 18, studying a Bachelor of Music at uni; Carly 12, in year 7 and Jacob 10, in year 5

Michelle and her kids

What did you do in 1986?
I moved with my folks to Baulkham Hills and commenced a degree in Occupational Therapy at uni.

Who have you kept in contact with from school? (before the reunion planning started)
I kept in contact with Lisa Berry (from the year below us) for a while. I also met up with Jenny Krause a few years ago in Springwood but no one now really.

What is your favourite memory of Canley?
My favourite memory is my first kiss on the seats down near the back fence!! (Ed: ooh, who with? Do tell!)

Who was your favourite teacher?
My favourite teacher was Mr Spencer. I remember Lisa Hanna and I sitting in HSC economics class and just staring at him, he was sooo cute.  I also remember the time that someone came into class to give him the news that his wife was in labour.  He ran out of class like a little boy running to open a Christmas present!! (Ed: note to self, ask Lisa about Mr Spencer)

What is your favourite saying/advice?
‘Be careful what you wish for – coz you just might get it!!’

People would be surprised to learn………
that I once broke my leg whilst skydiving pregnant!! (Ed: yep, I know I’m surprised by that!)

Explore posts in the same categories: General

4 Comments on “Classmate Closeup – Michelle Barwick”

  1. Bianca Says:

    Beautiful lady……..Skydiving pregnant????Broken leg??? and whom did you kiss???? I’ll be asking you at the reunion….Bx

  2. Corinne Says:

    Ummmmm hello!! I too am very curious as to whom the recipient of that kiss was. But most importantly, why are we finding out about it 25 years later!! Skydiving pregnant? I was tripping up stairs when I was pregnant, gee some people have all the fun. 🙂

  3. BloggerDude Says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read….

  4. Bill Bartmann Says:

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya


Leave a Reply

